Sway

Sway19286535
By: Kat Spears
Pages: 320
Publication Date: September 16, 2014
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Sway Quote

Synopsis

In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school senior Jesse Alderman, or “Sway,” as he’s known, could sell hell to a bishop. He also specializes in getting things people want—term papers, a date with the prom queen, fake IDs. He has few close friends and he never EVER lets emotions get in the way. For Jesse, life is simply a series of business transactions.

But when Ken Foster, captain of the football team, leading candidate for homecoming king, and all-around jerk, hires Jesse to help him win the heart of the angelic Bridget Smalley, Jesse finds himself feeling all sorts of things. While following Bridget and learning the intimate details of her life, he falls helplessly in love for the very first time. He also finds himself in an accidental friendship with Bridget’s belligerent and self-pitying younger brother who has cerebral palsy. Suddenly, Jesse is visiting old folks at a nursing home in order to run into Bridget, and offering his time to help the less fortunate, all the while developing a bond with this young man who idolizes him. Could the tin man really have a heart after all?


Sway is one of my favourite books of all time. When I first read the synopsis for this book I instantly knew I would love it and that I had to read it as soon as possible. I wasn’t disappointed at all but some aspects of the book did surprise me, in a good way. The thing I loved most about Sway was the main character Jesse. He was so original, witty, sarcastic, unapologetic, and in my opinion amazing in the least cliché or cookie cutter way. Some people may say that Jesse was too cynical and mean or rude but I loved his personality. It made the book so relateable and real to have a character that is some blunt and honest. I especially loved that the book was written in his point of view. It is rare that a young adult novel is written from a male point of view and I wish more young adult books were written in the male perspective. Another thing I loved about Sway was the concept that Jesse could get anything for anybody at the cost. Furthermore, the concept of secrets being used for power and wealth was a daring perspective that made me think about life. Also, the idea of Jesse trying to get Bridget to go out with another guy but falling for her along the way and be so protective of her was so adorable and cute. Bridget and Jesse just might be my favourite book couple every. This novel was about much more than romance. It was about family, acceptance, feeling the weight of the world on your shoulders, not judging a book by its cover, and finding yourself. Jesse transformation in the book was a natural and realistic change. Besides Jesse, Bridget’s brother, who has cerebral palsy, added a great and humorous dynamic to the novel. Through his character the reader learns more about Jesse and Bridget. Overall, all the characters had issues and were well developed throughout the entire book. This book made me laugh, be extremely happy, and almost cry. It is almost impossible to put into photo (10)words all the ways this book is amazing.

What I loved About The Book:

  • Jesse and his personality
  • Jesse and Bridget’s relationship
  • Life Lessons that I learned
  • Plot, concept, and the twists
  • Beautifully written and unapologetic
  • The wit and humour
  • Jesse’s fake grandfather and Bridget’s brother

There is some drug use and talk of selling drugs in this novel as well as some swear words. Therefore I would recommend this book to people who are 16 and older. If you are a person looking for an original and different type of young adult book I highly recommend this novel. It has everything from romance, self-discovery, family issues, and all the sarcasm and wit you could ever want. Overall, this book might not be for everyone but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It made me think about life, relationships, and I constantly think about the lessons I learned in this book long after I had finished it. It was thought provoking and real. It didn’t try to sugar coat anything. One of the major things that stuck with me after reading it was a one point Bridget brings up the fact that she asks people that if they could have any super power what would it be. She does this to judge the person’s personality and character. This made me think of the random questions  that I ask people in order to form an opinion about their personality. I have been subconsciously doing this like Bridget and I didn’t even realize I was doing it. It was the the big things and the little details in this book that had an impact on my life. I strongly believe that Kat Spears will produce many more great books in the future.

My Rating

Picture1

Leave a comment